• Surrey Golf Logo

History of the Derry Cup


The trophy was kindly donated by former SLCGA Executive Committee member and County Training Officer Sue Hill (Hankley Common GC) in memory of her father J L Rankin, who was an accomplished golfer and played most of his golf in Ireland. The original cup was awarded to ‘JL’ when he won the Derry Open in 1951 and SLCGA are delighted to rededicate this cup as The Derry Cup.


Eleanor Helme was a member of Leatherhead GC and played to a handicap of 1. She represented England in 1911, 1912, 1913 and 1920 and won the English Ladies Amateur Championship at Ganton GC in 1923. She was elected SLCGA Vice-President in 1913, Captain of SLCGA in 1920 & 1923 and became President from 1929 –1946.

Eleanor was an eminent journalist, working as the golfing correspondent for the Yorkshire Post and the Daily Telegraph. In 1933, at the English Ladies Amateur Championship at Westward Ho GC, supporting fellow Surrey golfer Nancy Halstead, she picked up a golfing scoop when Gloria Minoprio from Littlestone GC arrived on the first tee wearing trousers!!!

She was a great supporter of junior golf, and with help of Molly Gourlay, organised the first Surrey Girls Championship in 1952 which was won by Elizabeth Reid. After the Second World War, she retired with her sister Vera to Luccombe in Exmoor, where she wrote 4 books on golf and 7 children’s stories about ponies and farming.


Print page
background image